Living

Storage Wars in Switzerland?

Renting a self-storage unit is commonplace in the USA. Terminating a contract is just as simple and straightforward as renting and using a storage unit in Las Vegas or New York. The storage providers of such rooms are as hard as nails when it comes to terminating a contract. If there is rent outstanding, the whole storage unit will be quickly auctioned along with its content. This is reminiscent of the successful TV programme «Storage Wars» where they accompany bargain hunters at the auctions in their quest for big money.

Self-storage units

 

Could there be such a thing as Storage Wars in Switzerland?

Unfortunately not, we’re sorry to have to disappoint you all, budding entrepreneurs. The real world is not as glamorous as it is in the TV shows. A non-paying customer also faces eviction. How does it work in our own country if a customer fails to pay his storage rent?

Self-storage is gaining in popularity in Switzerland and an all-important change is just around the corner. The reasons for storing things can be as varied as the types of tenants. If you are returning from a long trip overseas, or if your house has undergone some remodelling, the storage contract will be terminated at the due date just as it would be for a rented dwelling. In most cases this process runs its course with no problems. However, in a few cases tenants end up in financial difficulties and the storage rent is no longer paid. Should such a situation arise, the storage provider and the tenant must endeavour to stay in direct and personal contact. Forced eviction, like you see in Storage Wars, is the ultimate and final solution to such a problem and should try to be avoided.

It is in both parties’ interest to prevent a forced eviction as much as possible. It can be a real pain for a customer to lose all their stored possessions. That’s why it is always in the tenant’s interest to maintain contact with the storage provider, even in circumstances of financial adversity. Unfortunately, experience shows that this doesn’t often happen, and customers hardly ever get in touch. If the customer fails to react to the payment reminders, the contract is terminated after an extended period of notice, and a forced eviction is instigated. This is actually far less spectacular than the way it is portrayed in the cult series Storage Wars. A list of inventories will be made at the outset, which includes the content of the storage unit. Reputable storage providers will inspect every corner of the storage for personal and private documents. The documents will then be put into safekeeping. Of course, this amounts to a considerable additional effort and expense; however, it also means that customers may have the good fortune to get back their valuable paperwork at a later date. In cases where the remaining content of the storage has a material market value, they may be utilised elsewhere instead of going to auction. This way the financial damage resulting from the absence of payments and the cost of doing the inventory can be compensated. If the goods have no marketable value then the personal belongings may also be disposed.

 

But who pays in the event of a clearance?

The costs of a clearance are initially assumed by the storage operators before being invoiced to the tenant. It never pays to stop paying rent, because there will be charges for clearance and disposal work, in addition to the rental costs. Not to mention any sentimental value. Especially when, as is often the case, there are numerous mementos in the storages; regrettably, these too will have to be disposed.

In conclusion, it needs to be said that there is a sizeable gap between what happens in Storage Wars and the real world.

 

Article elaborated by Zebrabox. Zebrabox is the market leader for self-storage solutions in Switzerland and offers its customers over 5’200 private storage units in 8 locations. Are you in need of space for furniture that you currently do not require, or is your house bursting at the seams? Then get a non-binding quote here.

zebrabox logo

Wohnen

Storage Wars in der Schweiz?

Das Mieten einer Self-Storage Einheit ist in den USA weitverbreitet. So einfach und unkompliziert das Mieten und Benutzen eines eigenen Lagerraums in Las Vegas oder New York ist, so ist es auch mit der Kündigung. Die Vermieter dieser Räume sind dabei knallhart. Wird die Miete nicht bezahlt, so wird der ganze Lagerraum mitsamt Inhalt sehr schnell versteigert. Hier setzt die sehr erfolgreiche Sendung «Storage Wars» an und begleitet dabei Schnäppchen-Jäger bei Versteigerungen und auf der Suche nach dem grossen Geld.

Self-Storage Lagerräume

Gibt es so etwas wie Storage Wars auch in der Schweiz?

Da müssen wir die potenziellen Geschäftemacher leider enttäuschen. Die Realität ist meistens nicht so glamourös wie in den TV Reality Shows. Die Räumung droht dem nichtzahlenden Kunden aber auch. Was passiert bei uns, wenn ein Kunde seine Lagermiete nicht mehr bezahlt?

Self-Storage erfreut sich zunehmend auch in der Schweiz immer grösserer Beliebtheit und steht vor dem definitiven Durchbruch. Die Gründe für eine Lagerung sind dabei so vielfältig, wie auch ihre Mieter. Ist man von der Weltreise zurück oder hat das Haus fertig umgebaut, wird der Lagervertrag wie bei einer Mietwohnung fristgerecht gekündigt, was in den meisten Fällen völlig reibungslos verläuft. Doch in seltenen Fällen kommen Mieter in einen Zahlungsengpass und die Lagermiete wird nicht mehr bezahlt. Sollte diese Situation eintreten, wird immer der persönliche und direkte Kontakt zum Kunden gesucht. Die Zwangsräumung wie bei Storage Wars stellt dabei die ultimative und letzte Möglichkeit dar, die man so gut es geht verhindern möchte.

Es liegt im Interesse beider Parteien, eine Zwangsräumung soweit wie möglich zu verhindern. Der totale Verlust seines Lagerguts kann für den Kunden schmerzhaft sein. Darum liegt es immer in seinem Interesse, selbst bei finanziellen Schwierigkeiten den Kontakt zum Lageranbieter aufrechtzuhalten. Leider zeigt die Praxis, dass dies oft nicht passiert, und die Kunden sich gar nicht mehr melden. Reagiert der Kunde nicht auf die Zahlungserinnerungen, wird nach einer zusätzlichen Frist der Vertrag gekündigt und die Zwangsräumung eingeleitet. Dies geschieht aber bedeutend unspektakulärer als in der Kultserie Storage Wars. Zu Beginn wird eine Inventarliste mit dem Inhalt des Lagerraums erstellt. Bei seriösen Lageranbietern wird der ganze Inhalt des Lagerraums auf persönliche und private Dokumente durchsucht. Die Dokumente werden anschliessend aufbewahrt. Dies stellt natürlich einen erheblichen Mehraufwand dar, aber so haben die Kunden vielleicht das Glück, ihre wertvollen Papiere später wieder zu erhalten. Anstelle einer Versteigerung wird der restliche Inhalt des Lagerraums, falls ein materieller Marktwert vorhanden ist, anderweitig verwertet, um als erstes den entstandenen finanziellen Schaden durch den Ausfall der Lagermieten und den Aufwand für die Realisierung des Inventars zu reduzieren. Ist keine verkäufliche Ware vorhanden kann es auch zu einer Entsorgung des Lagerguts kommen.

 

Doch wer zahlt im Falle einer Räumung?

Die Kosten einer Räumung werden zuerst von den Lagerbetreibern übernommen und anschliessend dem Mieter in Rechnung gestellt. Es ist also keinesfalls lohnenswert, seiner Mietzahlung nicht nachzukommen. Denn es entstehen zusätzlich zu den Mietkosten Aufwände für die Räumungs- und Entsorgungsarbeiten. Nicht zu vergessen ist der emotionale Wert. Befinden sich doch oftmals zahlreiche Erinnerungsstücke in den Lagerräumen, welche dann leider mitentsorgt werden.

Abschliessend lässt sich sagen, dass die Realität doch ziemlich von der in Storage Wars abweicht, das Lagergut des nicht bezahlenden Kunden aber doch nicht auf Ewigkeit gratis gelagert werden kann.

 

Content bereitgestellt durch Zebrabox. Zebrabox ist der führende Schweizer Anbieter von Self-Storage Lösungen und bietet seinen Kunden an 8 Standorten über 5‘200 private Lagerräume an. Brauchen Sie Platz für nicht benötigte Möbel oder platzt Ihr Keller aus allen Nähten? Dann holen Sie sich hier unverbindlich eine Offerte ein.

Zebrabox Logo